Architectural Justice and the IMPOSSIBLE burger

I realize I haven’t updated much lately. This is partly because haven’t tried that many new locations. Summer is approaching (only a few more days with students) and I’ll definitely change this. I need some good suggestions for lunch places that I can bike to from downtown. Planning short trips to  Chicago and Seattle in the next few weeks, expect photos of those branches.

Most of my destinations are selected from various best/new lists. I tend to be hesitant to leave Cle or the very near suburbs. But on Sunday I went to Strongsville, on purpose.

Architectural Justice is unlike any other restaurant I’ve been to in the area. It is essentially a Restoration Hardware store with a cafe (so JUST like the one in Chicago?), but they also have cooking classes? (I keep calling it Architectural Digest by accident). I figured the building was an old firehouse or something, however, it was a new construction about a year ago. It is an impressive and imposing structure that does not seem to fit in with the buildings that surround it.

The inside is rather stunning. Those blue fixures were the only thing I wasn’t crazy about.  The interior is so modern and clean yet quirky. 

The non-cafe half features so much decor that is made up of leather/marble/wood/metal.

Yeah, they do classes as well.

The menu is pretty small but we excitedly picked the banana’s praline waffle and — but on a croissant (it was a 2 dollar upgrade but very much worth it). The full menu

BANANA PRALINE
Served with chocolate hazelnut spread and sliced bananas, whipped cream    10

Very sweet. The texture was PERFECTION. It was dense and but not hard and so enjoyable. Don’t roll your eyes at “Artisan liege waffles”, these are lovely.

The fact that they made the eggs rectangular was a nice touch. The croissant was soo buttery. The goat cheese accented the perfectly tender short rib and the pickled jalapeno relish added a nice spiced acidic zing.  Also, the lighting was wonderful.  It came with a sizable salad and was 15.00 with the croissant upcharge.  

A rare behind the scenes photo.

Overall: I enjoyed this brunch. It was so tasty and I didn’t leave hungry.  Our waitress was pleasant and knowledgeable (I had a fair number of questions about this wonderfully enigmatic restaurant).  I know next to nothing about Strongsville but hopefully, it can be sustained / Cleveland folks trek down for it.  They currently are having an Instagram contest. Although if we win I’d be torn on spending the money on a home furnishing or just getting MANY waffles.


Some other fun food pics:

If you haven’t been to Blue Door Care in Cuyahoga Falls for brunch, you are really missing out. Everything is fantastic. The menu rotates new dishes that are seasonal and creative. It is rather busy on weekends but if your group is 3 or less you can probably sit at the bar, and then watch all the dishes come out of the kitchen while you wait (which will be a while… but WORTH IT).

Pistachio croissant (almost as good as their almond croissant which remains one of the best pastries I have ever consumed). 

Sour cherry waffle served over a bed of vanilla- rum rice pudding. A wonderful dessert that we can pretend is a brunch entree in order to justify more pastries later.


The cheese cart at Edwins (above) and the banana’s foster. Soo much tableside. I still have not watched the documentary (it was nominated for an Oscar this year).  Our corner was very dark so I did not get many good photos there, but if you want a fancy French meal from somewhere with a strong sense of social responsibility, please try it out. I finally tried frog legs for the first time, didn’t love them (they did in fact taste like incredibly garlicy chicken) but glad I can cross them off my list. 

We took a floral cupcake decorating class from White Flower. 

THE IMPOSSIBLE BURGER! From B-Spot.

Some of my students have been talking about this item for awhile. I recall reading a lot about it when it made its debut. In general, I like veggie burgers. I eat very little beef anyway. I am okay with veggie burgers Not tasting like beef. This was good. If I didn’t know it I would not have known it was meatless. I would have thought it was just a regular, although *slightly* dry burger.  I  guess for those carnivorous people who need to limit red meat intake this is a great substitution. I still really enjoy Townhall’s veggie burger way more. Overall, it was kinda expensive but I am glad I tried it. The rosemary truffle fries remain the most exciting thing at B-spot for me. 

You know the “Impossible” song from Cinderella (the musical, not the animated movie)? Yeah, that was pretty much on repeat as we ate.