Photo Update

Okay, I didn’t take my official notebook to any of these places but I did take at least one good photo/have something to say.  Here is where, again, I ask for comments of places to try.  Please leave it in the comments.  Labor day brunch at Lucky’s Cafe in Tremont. Wonderful local ingredients. Sitting outside. Strawberry rhubarb topping on  coconut waffles… they change up the type periodically, I believe sometimes its lemon. Always Happiness, but a little pricey for an everyday brunching. Perfect for a day off 🙂

Also-  I find it amusing that the 2 really notable brunch places in Tremont are Lucky’s and Grumpy’s.
  Not Cleveland, I know, but I went back to Canfield and got some of the world’s best donuts and my favorite seasonal fruit. If Concord grapes were seedless I would never stop eating them for the 2 weeks they are available. #nostalgic #blueberrydonut #WhiteHouseFF #purpletounge   The Red Devil Eggy Bread (or French Toast to the rest of us) at Jack Flaps in the Downtown arcade. Cranberry compote and basil topping. I think it was $9. Very big portion. It was a very tart topping, the balance was a little odd. Pretty good, there are other things that I want to try there.
  I tried Camino’s with Patrick. Some people claim this place is better than Barrio (gasp!). I liked it. It was pretty reasonable, but the tacos are smaller and they don’t give you delicious chips/salsa.  We got a margarita, they don’t use mix which is nice, the peach flavor was verrrrry subtle. I listened to the waitress and got Beer chicken and carnitas. The chicken was very flavorful while the carnitias was oddly bland. I might b e the only person who thinks this…. but I prefer my tortillas to be either hard corn ones like chips or the very soft flour variety. The hand-made soft-corn ones I find to have an odd aldente texture. They place was good, but my loyalty will probably stay with Barrio. I’m never still hungry after going there. 
  Why do  these modern taco places love skeletons on the walls so much??
 Not food per se, but look at this Champion Squash. In 1988 the biggest was only 270 pounds (only 22% of what this one weighs!).  …On a related note I did try deep fried cookie dough 😛

cookies