Summer has ended :(

Today is really my last day of summer break. I will most likely continue to keep eating once the school year starts and there is a change I will write about it here. Recently I have eaten a bunch, but did not take photos of everything. These include Crop Kitchen,  Ninja City, Bodega on Coventry and some great places in Florida.

The first place that I must talk about (and will DEFINITELY be going back) is Coquette Patisserie on Euclid in the Uptown area near Case.  I apologize for the pictures, it was very dark and I did not take any photos of the splendid atmosphere. I like it. I may abandon my housing search and just move in.  Here is the Menu…. (to be honest I feel their website is a little disappointing considering how classy and wonderful the location is in person). I was there with a bunch of classy guys, although John and I seemed most excited about the chocolaty offerings.

They have lots of fun pastries, macarons ( which I believed is pronounced Maawh-kah-rqohhnns) as well as champagne. We also went there after going to the East side location of Happy Dog, so it was a pretty drastic change of environment…but equally caloric.

  This is the Chocolate Triomphe. It is 7$ but is absolutely worth it and so decadent that is easily a satisfying dessert for 2. The hazelnuts on top were wonderful and if the supreme court rules it legal I may marry the ganache. If you are one of those idiots individuals who says “I don’t really like dessert, we probably shouldn’t be friends and maybe you shouldn’t go here either”.   Here is a sampling from the website:

Cleveland DessertsI think I was a late adopter on the macaron craze.  I didn’t get it at first. I enjoy them now, and love the implied pretentiousness of them. Coquette also delivers in this area, as they have a wide array of flavors. I tried the peach and cherry-limeade.  They are standard 2-in cookies and are $2 each. For an additional mere quarter you can have them dipped in dark chocolate.  From what I gather, they always have a certain number of flavors but they alternate having some fruity, nutty and chocolaty. Some of the interesting flavors offered include amaretto, milk chocolate-chai,  raspberry rose, praline, Guinness float, cantaloupe-paprika and lingonberry.   Look at that hand modeling.   look how cultured we look. or suspicious.
  I know I tend to make my mother seem like a slightly crazy person on here, but I am actually excited to bring her here the next time she visits Cleveland ( and i believe a mango macarons and cheese cake are acceptable entrees before ordering desserts).


Did you know that the little stand in the middle of Whole Foods locations make delicious and affordable lunches? They do. I will not go on and on about it but burgers/burritos are 7$, Large salads are 10 and the full entrees are mostly 12-15. And they are all huge portions.

  Ryan got a large burger where you get to customize everything and sweet potato fries.
  Anthony got a kale salad with lovely zebra beets because (#wholefoods) and a tahini vinegrette dressing. Unlike Ryan and I, he was hungry again later, because, well it’s kale.

  I got a massive chimichanga (i have no idea if I spelled that right and the spell check is trying to make it “Michiganite”)  style chicken burrito. Everything was fresh and light that I think that cancels out the fact it was the size of a medium housecat.  They also bring you seasoned popcorn and make the food directly in front of you. I recomend it if you want a quick, fresh tasting lunch.
  so long summer.  Here’s to a magical year two of teaching!