Boy brunch at SOHO

Some of you may be familiar with Sondheim’s The Ladies who Lunch .  Here’s a clip from the Movie Camp….there is some language in it….   Well this is actually my first review from the perspective of  The Boys Who Brunch. Teenage Anna Kendrick has not sung about us…yet.

We went to SOHO on West 25/Ohio City. It is a much better idea to go brunching in this area on Sundays, as the Market isn’t open and is possible to get a parking spot within a 2 mile radius. 

They now have a very nice patio area, but it is small and we decided to skip waiting and sit inside.

Like many restaurants, they have a Clevelandy-industrial design motif.
My dining companions this morning were Ryan, Anthony and John- this was his first Cleveland Brunch.

I had been to this establishment years ago but for some reason always overlook it when I consider all the restaurants  in the area. 
I appreciate the small things restaurants do, like bringing out coffee cream in small little metal vessels and having fancy brown-sugar cubes. They serve fresh, delicious biscuits with a peach jam and herbal butter that are simple but rather tasty.
  

I ordered the “Biscuits” and Gravy. Normally quotation marks make me a little weary, does anybody really want to eat a “fish” taco or a banana “smoothie”?

Instead of using biscuits, which I already said were delicious, they use cheddar hushpuppies. They had a little kick to them. It was served with a sausage gravy and scrambled eggs. For some reason I didn’t think the portion was huge when it came out (I ended up barely finishing it and not being hungry again until late into the evening). It was a good bruchvestment for $12. I liked it and was very satisfied. I would have appreciated slightly more sausage/gravy.  The hushpuppie give it a slightly more artsy presentation than normal slathered biscuits.
  
John got the Chicken and Waffles ($14). Note, he is from the South and gave some of his review in an exaggerated accent, so clearly the fact that he liked the chicken means it is acceptable. They use local maple syrup and put rosemary in the waffle. The chicken was appropriately crispy (of course I tried it).
 The other two gentlemen both ordered the S’uthern Benedict ($12). Poached eggs, fried green tomatoes, country ham, Tabasco hollandaise, breakfast potatoes. It was very pretty, although I will admit that I am not a huge fan of hollandaise or the taste of tobasco in general, but the visual appeal was undeniable.

Nobody ordered a brunch drink, but I would be curious to try to Bing cherry mimosa. Also it’s worth mentioning that our waitress was a pretty fun individual.
Overall, the food was tasty, the atmosphere was pleasant and the number of obnoxious movie references made by myself and group was off the charts.  I enjoyed it and would now probably want to go back to try their non-brunch offerings.